Keeping or not keeping?

by caroanna

Dear diary,

I confided in you my deepest secrets when I was younger, only to realize that it’s a bad idea to give others the chance to know them. Yet, in my teenager folly, I still wrote some passages that I should have kept to myself.

Now, I’m older and wiser (I said wiser, not wise) to not confide in you, especially not in electronic form.

Yet, some writers found a new trend in publishing their diaries, or at least keeping one. Should I trust their wisdom and write down what is better forgotten?

Maybe. But I won’t. My secrets can be veiled in metaphors to make them accessible to me, and only me. Works better than a password.

And when I’m old and interested in how I thought and what I did when I was young, I read my stories and wonder how on earth I could have come up with them.

Goodbye diary,

your faithless writer

Tags: ,

One Comment to “Keeping or not keeping?”

  1. if the veil is too thick for others, it might be too thick for you too… sharing is the answer to your question.

Leave a Reply

