Just what I was talking about…

by caroanna

   I’m not sure if I’m glad or sad about Paul Nizon’s comment on writing:

“Ein normaler, angepasster Mensch würde doch gar nicht mit dem Schreiben anfangen, Schreiben kann man ja nur aus einem Übermaß oder einem kardinalen Defekt heraus. Auch ein glücklicher Mensch würde doch nie schreiben wollen oder müssen. Also am Anfang ist der Defekt oder das Querstehen oder das Ausgestoßensein und nie das harmonische Aufgehen in einer Welt oder Gesellschaft oder Umgebung.”

   So, basically he’s arguing that happy and content people don’t feel the urge to write, they don’t need it and they can’t. He mentions that you need to have a flaw of some kind, probably caused by rejection or not fitting into your surroundings. So what would you chose if you could? Feeling good about yourself and walking on air through life or being a good writer? Damn, I hope he’s wrong…

5 Comments to “Just what I was talking about…”

  1. Hello caroanna,

    thank you for your answer.

    I did not think the writer’s psyche is more or less generic than ‘normal’ persons psyche. The people I know all have one pont where they think they are unique. I just wanted to stress out, that next to this unique points writers often seems to be more different and foreign than our neighbour.

    I did not know much about the structuralist approach but most times I did not learn the authors name by heart while reading a book because I am not this interested in it. I just remember the author after reading several texts from him I found well or bad.

    Greetings, Kallisto.

    • Hi Kallisto,

      I don’t think that writer’s in that sense are more unique than others. I think the difference is that they may see this uniqueness and exploit it. Others just live by it but may not notice it themselves.

      I’m the same way with authors. Although it’s difficult as a literary student or when I read book reviews. You’re often kind of biased. But that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. You just read a text differently when you already know part of the context.

  2. Hello,

    on the one hand I support theoates’ opinion, on the other hand I think there is a slight other meaning in the quotation. To me the keyword is not to be a sad and sick person on contrary; to me the keyword in the quotations is “Querstehen” which means looking on the things in another direction than the mass.

    The people feeling good and walking on air are normally the ones accepting what is common. The writer can also be a happy person. The difference is, to the socalled normal people he seems different.
    So as a conclusion, to me it is just a point of view and I by myself feels as well good and a writer. The question to be a good or a bad one has to be judged by someone else.

    Greetings, Kallisto.

    • Thank you for your input. I really feel I need to update this blog more frequently. Lack of time is mostly just an excuse.

      Regarding your comment: I would partly agree with theoates, too, but it only makes them unique to the point where having a writer’s psyche becomes generic and every writer prides himself with certain depressions or other mental impairments.

      I also agree that a writer needs a unique perspective on the world that makes him not common, but I’m just afraid that some people connect this perspective too much to a writer’s personality instead of his writing. When it comes to literature, I like the more structuralist approach and divide the text from the author for a while to see what there really is to the text. Often you can get so much more from a text when you ignore the person behind it and what their life has looked like.

  3. Even if this is true, that just makes writers more unique and interesting than regular people, in my opinion

Leave a Reply

